top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Cake Mix Lemon Bars

I've shared with you the story for all my mixes, this one I found to be used ever so perfectly in this classic dessert. It gives it a slight twist without missing the true flavor of a lemon bar! I hope that you enjoy this recipe please feel free to let me know how you like it! Feedback from you makes both of us better bakers!



Shortbread Base


2 cups of my Vanilla Cake Mix

1 stick of very cold butter,cubed

a couple of teaspoons of water


Filling


4 eggs

1 cup of sugar

1/2 stick of butter, melted

1/2 cup of my Lemon Cake Mix

1 lemon, juice and zest

pinch of salt


Tools


1 large mixing bowl

Whisk

Rubber Spatula

7x7 inch square pan(I used my glass pan)


1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Start by pouring your vanilla cake mix into your large mixing bowl, then pour in your cubed butter and press with your hands or pastry blender until it reaches a pea-like crumb.

2. Next, drizzle in water little by little until the dough is slightly moistened but still dry and when you squeeze it it holds together. Press with your knuckles or use the bottom of a ramekin to sure it is tightly packed. Bake in your preheated oven for 20 minutes, you don't have to get any color or anything, but when it comes out it will be slightly risen, deflate it with a fork by poking or use your hands(I used my hands, quickly tapping it to deflate it). Then set aside.

3. In that same mixing bowl(if there are little crumbs its okay! Less clean up right? Plus it all going in the same dish!) pour in your sugar and eggs whisking until combined. Pour in your lemon juice and zest, lemon cake mix, and salt then stir together. Lastly, as you are mixing the batter stream in your butter simultaneously until it is all incorporated.

4. Place it back into your preheated oven for another 40-45 minutes or until it is nicely golden brown on top and the middle is set. Once they are done set on your counter to cool completely, then pop it into your fridge to set up. (They taste a lot better once they have had a chance to set in the fridge, 6 hours to overnight is good!)

5. When you are ready to serve MAKE SURE that you top it with powdered sugar. Lol. That is the only way to go! I hope that you enjoy these kinds of recipes where you just dump, mix, and bake! There will be many more so stay tuned by signing up for my newsletter, that a way I can send it straight to you inbox!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page