top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Cake Trifles 2 Ways!



This recipe really just sprouted up in my mind. I've always wanted to make some kind of trifle. I've seen some of the chefs that I look up make their own, and they are always humongous, so I wanted to recreate my own and make it something that you could carry around in your hand. I used my Homemade Vanilla Cake Mix for the cake component and my Homemade Vanilla Pudding instead of using the boxed pudding. The vanilla pudding may cause for a few extra steps but the end result is worth working for! I challenge you to make this recipe you wont be disappointed! I present to you Cake Trifle 2 ways!  One is Banana Pudding Cake Trifle and the second is my play on a Tiramisu. I know that these will hit all those late night cravings, and make your week end with a bang!




Makes 8 Cake Trifles


CAKE


3 cups of Vanilla Cake Mix

1 cup of All Purpose Flour

1 1/2 cup of  whole milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 stick of butter melted


OTHER INGREDIENTS


1 Banana, sliced

1/2 cup of chocolate chips

1 cup of HOT water with 3 teaspoons of instant coffee powder added

A recipe of my Homemade Vanilla Pudding

Whipped Cream or Cool Whip

Cocoa Powder

My Homemade Caramel


1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, butter and flour a 11 x 9 inch square pan then set aside. In a mixing bowl pour in the cake mix, flour, and all the wet ingredients and whisk together until nicely combined. Pour into your prepare baking dish and cake your cake for 32-34 minutes or until baked all the way through! After that set your cake aside to cool to room temperature away from your stove, this'll make your cake cool a lot faster this way.

2. Once you cake is cooled, using a cookie cutter the size of your cup you are going to serve it in cup out.( Or you can just use the cup that you will be serving it in to cut out the cakes. With each cake you should be able to slice the tiny cake in half giving you the two layers of cake in your trifles. Once you have done this set them aside.




WHIPPED CREAM FILLING

2 cups of heavy whipping cream

4 tablespoons of sugar

2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1. Whip the mixture until it reaches stiff peaks. Then set aside.


FOR THE BANANA PUDDING TRIFLE




1. In the serving glass place in your cake, then a layer of vanilla pudding, a layer of freshly whipped cream, then a few sliced banana, and a drizzle of caramel. Place the other layer of cake, then a dollop of whipped cream a banana then a drizzle of caramel.



FOR THE TIRAMISU TRIFLE




1. When you heat the water for the instant coffee, use a couple of tablespoons of water just to cover the chocolate chips then let sit for about a minute then stir until the chocolate is melted and the mixture in thick.

2. Brush the cakes with the coffee, then place on of the halves on the bottom of the glass, then a layer of whipped cream, chocolate ganache(sauce we made), then whipped cream. Then add the next layer of cake, a layer of the chocolate sauce, a dollop of whipped cream, and last a dusting of cocoa powder, and a drizzle of caramel.

3. Set both trifles in the fridge for about an hour for all the ingredients to marry before serving. Note: You will have some left over cake, you can make more or you can freeze the rest of the cake then thaw it out when you are ready to use again. I wouldn't keep your cake for more than a month in your freezer.

4. Also, food bloggers you can play with whatever flavors you desire! Use the cake and the pudding these elements I gave to you then paint your masterpiece! Try my recipe, and let me know how it worked out for you! Also, tag me in your photos on social media so I can see your recreations!





-Enjoy!-

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page