top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix

Christmas is one of my all-time favourite holidays! I love the anticipation of snow, the sweaters, the scarves, etc. But most importantly its a time at the end of the year to remember our Saviour, Jesus Christ, and His sacrifice for sins of the whole world. Regardless, we should celebrate Him everyday! This gifting season y'all and my first gift to you guys is my recipe for Homemade Cocoa Mix! I hope that you are as excited as I am for you to have this AMAZING recipe! That is of course undoubtedly delicious, but SUPER easy to put together, and the cool thing is is that you can keep it in an airtight container for a very, very long time!





THE STORY

I get a lot of my inspiration from things I see online, and whenever I find an idea that I like or want to try I some things that I have made before into consideration and I apply that to the idea! What I am trying to say is that I take an original idea of mine to execute a new idea that I've found or came up with! With saying that, my Hot Cocoa Mix is my Homemade Chocolate Sauce but just the dry ingredients with a slightly different ratio to the cornstarch(the thickener). You will see that this recipe is SO EASY to put together that it will be unbelievable and you will NO LONGER go to the store to buy that hot cocoa mix. You really don't know what's in it, but with my mix it's super easy-to-find ingredients that are highly quality yet easy on the pocket! If you are a baker like me, then you will have most the ingredients in your pantry.

When I tried the recipe for the first time just following my Homemade Chocolate Sauce Recipe it was a COMPLETE FAIL! I quickly realized that I used too much cornstarch. It bubbled over and was a complete mess, so, I dialed down the cornstarch to my liking. When I tried it again and shared it with my family they absolutely loved it and now its something that we look forward to every holiday! I hope that this also becomes a staple in your household your family and friends! Blessings to each and every one of you, for Jesus our God stated in His earthly ministry, " Better is it give, than to receive." Acts 20:35, so I gift this recipe to you for your enjoyment and pleasure for this lovely holiday! I present to you My Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix!




INGREDIENTS FOR THE MIX


2/4 cups of  Hershey's Special Dark 100% Cocao (Dutched) Powder

1/4 cup of Hershey's 100% Cocoa Powder

1 3/4 cups of Powdered sugar

4 teaspoons of corn starch

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of  Ghiradelli chocolate chips, finely chopped

SIDE NOTE: If you don't happen to have whole milk put in half a cup of dry milk powder as a replacement! And just use water to make you hot cocoa details later in the recipe!)




1. Sift all the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl, then give it a really good mix to ensure that each ingredient is incorporated evenly! Then, stir in the finely chopped chocolate. Lastly, place into an airtight container until further use.





 

HOW TO MAKE HOT COCOA USING THE MIX!


This makes one serving:


2 tablespoons of Hot Cocoa Mix(or 3 if you are feeling extra fancy!, :D)

1 cup of whole milk, any kind of nut milk, or water


1. Put the milk into a small sauce pot and let it heat up until you began to see heat waves rising from the milk. DO NOT LET IT BOIL! Once it gets to this stage, (while your stirring) slowly add in your hot cocoa mix. NOTE: You want to make sure that you are really stirring it because you don't want your chocolate to burn on the bottom of your sauce pot. SIDE NOTE: You can do this in the microwave, but for the best results I like to use my stove top. Just use what you got! :D


2. Once it's the mix is incorporated and the chocolate it melted pour your hot cocoa into your favourite mug( CAUTION: BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN DOING THIS IT'LL BE HOT! If you are doing this with your child, it'd probably be best to pour it into something that has a spout for easy pouring, I use my measuring cup. :) If it's just me though I got for it and pour it right into my cup, sometimes I like to live on the edge! Lol :D).




3. And lastly, don't forget a giant marshmallow, and, yes, it has to be a giant marshmallow. Why not? It's the holidays! :D Get FANCY!




I hope that you enjoy my version of my Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix! It's super delicious, doesn't have many ingredients and most of them you already have on hand! Please take a picture of you and your family making Hot Cocoa with my mix! I love seeing your recreations, also in that is an opportunity to become one of my Food Blogger VIP's. A Food Blogger VIP or F.B.V.I.P. is a someone who gets exclusive insights on upcoming projects and future recipes! So many of you will be getting this recipe at it has posted for everyone to see, but those of you who are F.B.V.I.P. will have gotten it a day ahead! Like this post, share it with your friends and family, share your photos, and if you have ANY questions about me or want to collaborate email me or message me on social media!




-ENJOY!-

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page