top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Ground Chicken Lasagna

Lasagna is one of my favorite Italian dishes to make, because it is simple yet complex(flavor wise) at the same time. It is cheesy, saucy, and full of flavor! I thought about what kind of meat that I wanted to use, and I thought I always used ground beef so I decided to change it up by using ground chicken to make it slightly healthier for my family and I. The turn out was fantastic! There was literally NOTHING LEFT in the pan because it's THAT GOOD. This would be something great for tonight's Valentines Day dinner. Without further a due here I present to you my Ground Chicken Lasagna!




A classic Lasagna usually calls for a ricotta cheese layer, but I wanted to keep it simple for you guys. Honestly, this recipe doesn't need anything else added to it. But as always you can do what you want with the recipe! Just don't forget to tag me and send me a pic so I can see your recreations! :D Here are the ingredients!


 

INGREDIENTS


Cheese of your choice

garlic powder to taste

garlic salt to taste

salt to taste

pepper to taste

small dash of chili powder

lean ground chicken(5lb. cases, I used Perdue Lean Ground Chicken)

Italian seasoning


1. Preheat oven for 350 degrees Fahrenheit. In a sauce pot pour in the marinara sauce, and the extra tomato sauce and season the sauce to your liking. The sauce is already packed with a lot of flavor, but since you are adding more pasta sauce you will need to increase the seasoning slightly. Turn the sauce onto medium heat and let heat through.


2. Next, in a separate sauce pot on medium to medium high heat cook your ground chicken and as it cooks with a spatula break up the meat.




3. If the chicken renders out a lot of liquid just discard it(if there is a little left that's fine!). Season your meat with the seasonings listed, or use your own seasonings. Cook the chicken until cooked all the way through, and it is a light brown. Then, pour about 3/4 of the marinara sauce into the cooked ground chicken and stir together. Taste for seasoning at this moment, it should be packed with flavor! Set aside on low heat while you prepare the noodles.


 

PREPARING THE HOMEMADE FETTUCINE




You don't have to make Homemade Pasta you can buy pasta sheets(fettucine) from your local supermarket! When I make pasta, its honestly for a special occasion or just whenever I feel like it honestly. :D Follow these steps to make the fettucine!


 

1. If you've made my recent pasta recipe for pasta roll it thinly, then trim the ends, cutting it into a large square.




2. Then using a sharp knife cut the fettucine, I cut it length wise towards me, then when I have that strip I just use that strip to cup the rest. I cut nine strips. Then boil them in salt and oiled water until as I said in the previous recipe until bubbles appear on the noodles.




 



 

1. Start with a layer of marinara sauce that you have left over, on the bottom of your baking dish. It doesn't need to be a thick layer just enough to coat the bottom of it. Like so..




2. Then, place three fettucine noodles length wise along with a sprinkling of cheese and sprinkle of Italian seasoning(just do this on the first layer and at the end of the top), then you can layer on some of the meat sauce, then another layer of cheese! Do this one more time, ending with the noodles on top then pour the rest of the meat sauce on top, then a last sprinkling of cheese, and a sprinkling of Italian seasoning. Also, if the noodles are sticking out just tuck them in or fold them over the top, and if you have extra sauce just layer a little sauce on top of it so that is wont burn during the cooking process.



3. Bake in your oven starting on the bottom rack for 45-55 minutes until its nice and bubbly and golden brown! I like to serve it with some garlic cheese bread or my Roasted Garlic Loaf!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page