top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Healthier Granola Bars



I wanted to recreate my Granola Bar Recipe, and make it slightly healthier for you guys, my family, and myself without adding too much sugar or unnecessary ingredients. If you love those classic crunchy granola bars from your local supermarket, I think that you will love these more!


INGREDIENTS

5 cups of whole grain old fashioned oats

1/2 cup of granulated sugar

3 tablespoons of brown sugar

3 tablespoons of vegetable oil a heavy dash of ground cinnamon

a pinch of salt

2 tablespoons of light corn syrup(this helps the granola bars stay together) or honey

1 stick of butter, unsalted

1/2 cup of raisins


1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray and line a 11 x 9 inch square baking pan with parchment paper, set aside.

2. In a large bowl pour in your oats, granulated sugar, oil, and raisins then toss together until well combined, set aside.

3. In a small sauce pot, put in the rest of the ingredients: brown sugar, butter, ground cinnamon, and corn syrup. Cook on medium heat until its bubbly and thick. When it reaches this point, CAREFULLY pour the syrup into the oat/raisin mixture and mix it well with a rubber spatula getting the bottom of the bowl and the sides! Press the mixture TIGHTLY into your prepared baking pan, making sure that it's tightly packed into the pan.

4. (Optional, you can score where you want to cut your bars and how big you want to cut them before you put them into the oven.) Bake then in your 350 degree oven for 30-32 minutes or until golden brown. Once they are done, set them aside to cool slightly before slicing. As you cut these, I want you to know that they SHOULDN'T LOOK PERFECT, you'll get a chunk there, a chunk here, but its all about having fun in the kitchen it shouldn't rocket science!

5. Cut them to your desired shape and size. Then, wrap them in wrap them parchment paper, or what I like to do is either place them in plastic bags, so I can just take some in the morning or just leave then in an airtight container. They taste WAYYY better than the store bought ones! I say that very boldly, and the best thing is KNOWING what's in the final product rather than not knowing them at all! You can't beat that! I hope that you're family loves them as much as mine does, give me your feedback and let me know if you have ANY questions! :D Also, play around with the flavors the raisins were an additive that I had on hand, but you can easily drizzle melted chocolate on these, and replace the raisins with peanuts or cashews, have fun experiment! My recipe is just a canvas for you to paint on! :D





-Enjoy!-

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page