top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Homemade Granola Cereal



I've always been interested in making my own cereal, and when I began making my own granola I finally found my way to recreate my very own! I used to use Frosted Flakes as the more cereal part of it to make my play Honey Bunches of Oats, but I realized that it might be healthier with the Chex Rice Cereal. I have a few friends, including myself that would like to start eating slightly healthier, having this on hand is great! You can put it on yogurt, eat it with fresh fruit, or just on its own! It's full of whole grain that I know that will satisfy you in the morning! I present Homemade Granola Cereal!




Start with 100% Whole Grain Oats, this will ensure all the nutrients and fiber that you need to receive in the morning! It also a good source for healthy carbs, antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals. One thing to also note about the fiber is that it contains beta-glucan (1, 2 and 3 which has multiple functional and bio-active properties, from D. El Khoury).


INGREDIENTS


5 cups of whole grain old fashioned oats

1/2 cup of granulated sugar

3 tablespoons of brown sugar

3 tablespoons of vegetable oil a heavy dash of ground cinnamon

a pinch of salt

2 tablespoons of light corn syrup(this helps the granola bars stay together) or honey

1 stick of butter, unsalted

1 cup of raisins

Chex Rice Cereal

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray and line a 11 x 9 inch square baking pan with parchment paper, set aside.

2. In a large bowl pour in your oats, granulated sugar, oil, then toss together until well combined then set aside.

3. In a small sauce pot, put in the rest of the ingredients: brown sugar, butter, ground cinnamon, and corn syrup. Cook on medium heat until its bubbly and thick. When it reaches this point, CAREFULLY pour the syrup into the oat mixture and mix it well with a rubber spatula getting the bottom of the bowl and the sides! Pour the mixture into your prepared baking pan, spread the mixture evenly in the pan, and press down slightly.





 



4. Bake the granola in your 350 degree oven for 30 minutes or until golden brown, every five minutes using a fork toss around the granola to ensure that it is browning evenly.




5. Once the granola is cooled add in the raisins.



6.Whenever you are ready to eat the cereal, in a bowl pour in your desired amount of Chex Rice Cereal and a couple teaspoons of the granola with, of course, whole milk!



-ENJOY!-

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page