top of page
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Homemade Pickle Jalapenos

I decided to bring these before you because I really love pickling! I make homemade pickles every now and then for my mom and I, as a snack or on sandwiches and hamburgers. But for this recipe I really wanted to try pickled jalapenos, for a recipe that is coming up next week. I was kind of tired of going to the store and buying them when I made my own pickling solution. So I used that recipe to make these with an addition of an ingredient. I present to you my Homemade Pickled Jalapenos!



Pickling is SO FUN and SUPER EASY! It literally takes like less than 15 minutes! Let's get to the recipe, here are the ingredients..


 

INGREDIENTS


5 jalapenos rinsed, sliced, pith and tops removed( keep some seeds for heat)

4 cups of water

1 cup of distilled white vinegar

1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar

1 tablespoon of salt

a couple dashes of pepper


1. Start with the solution. In a sauce pot pour in the water, sugar, salt, vinegar, and pepper. Place on medium heat and cook until the sugar dissolves, then let it come to a slight boil.




 

2. Cut the jalapenos into a 1/4 inch rings(as shown below), take out the seeds from the middle if you cannot handle the spiciness of jalapeno. I like to them whole depending on how I am feeling. :D




 



3. Place the sliced jalapenos into the mason jar or air tight container that you are using, then pour the HOT pickling liquid(be careful!) over the jalapenos until it reaches the top of the jar.




4. Place the lid to the mason jar, then with a damp rag wipe down the jar. Then place in the fridge for at least 6-8 hours, I like to just leave mine for at least 24 hours that a way I know that they had quite a while to sit in that pickling liquid! Also, be careful if you are using a glass mason jar for the jar will be very hot due to the very hot liquid so using a rag to move it around, or oven mitts! Also, you will have about two cups of liquid left, you can make more pickled veggies(onions, peppers, pickles, etc.). Just remember to heat up your liquid to a slight boil before pouring it over your vegetables! :D



 



-Enjoy!-

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page