top of page
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Writer's pictureJordan M. Irving

Moist Chocolate Cake



For this recipe was truly inspired by my Instagram feed! I saw a lot of "moist chocolate cakes" from some of the amazing bakers and bloggers that I follow, so I thought to make my OWN moist chocolate cake using my Homemade Chocolate Cake Mix! Nothing, is better than homemade cake, but something even better than that is Homemade Cake that is quick AND easy to put together! Click here for a video tutorial on how to decorate this cake!




I have been making this cake mix for a few years now, for any get together, for any cake order that I may have I always resort to my Homemade Cake Mixes so that, 1. It's easier, and 2.It's delicious! Also, everyone seems to love it as well, I would say that most definitely its a crowd-pleaser for sure. So I would adjure you to have this in your repertoire, and in your pantry.


CAKE RECIPE


4 cups of Homemade Chocolate Cake Mix

3 eggs

1 cup of vegetable oil

1 1/4 cups of whole milk, heated w/ 2 teaspoons of instant coffee granules

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1/2 cups of sour cream


1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. I bake my cakes in two 8" pans, spray with non-stick spray. Pour the cake mix into your mixing bowl, along with the eggs, sour cream, oil, milk/instant coffee mixture, and vanilla extract. Mix the ingredients until it's nice and smooth(make sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl and the bottom of the bowl to ensure that everything is incorporated.

2. Pour your batter in your prepared pan and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 34-35 minutes. At the halfway minute mark bake for the rest of the time on top.

3. When the cakes are done, let the cool on your counter top until cooled completely.





 




FROSTING


5 cups of powdered sugar

2 1/4 sticks of softened butter

a generous pinch of salt

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

1 cup of chocolate ganache (1 cup of heavy cream heated, 3/4 cups of chocolate chips)

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of melted chocolate chips

1. Cream butter until light and fluffy, then add the chocolate ganache little by little as you add the dry ingredients: powdered sugar, salt, and cocoa powder. Whip the mixture until fluffy and smooth!

2. Lastly, fold in the vanilla extract and melted chocolate chips.




HOMEMADE CARAMEL


2 cups of granulated sugar

1 cup of water

1/4 cup of corn syrup

1 teaspoon of salt

6 tablespoons of butter

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of heavy cream


1. In a sauce pot pour in the sugar then the water, DO NOT STIR but swirl then drizzle in the corn syrup. Cook on medium heat until it reaches a amber color, then slowly and CAREFULLY stir in your heavy cream. (Please be careful because this mixture is liquid HOT sugar, and it can BURN YOU!).

2. Remove from heat, then stir in your butter, then the salt, and lastly the vanilla extract. Pour in a bowl, or large mason jar then allow caramel to cool in fridge. But you can use after it has slightly cooled.


ASSEMBLING THE CAKE


After the cakes are cooled, put a thick layer of your frosting spreading to the edges. Then, flip the cake upside down so that the top is flat. ( I level my cakes, but to make it easier on you you can do it this way, but if you are a pro level your cakes! :D If you want a tutorial on how to level a cake let me know my emailing me, or DM me on Instagram!) Ice the whole cake with a nice layer of frosting. The decorate with extra cake crumbs, and caramel. I've had experience with cake decorating, it may not look like mine, but decorate it as you see fit! :D


-Enjoy!-




34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page